Surrender

Emojis showing anger and fear.

The terrorists are laughing.

They’ve won the day, you see.

They got us hating on each other

Fearing diversity.

 

“Let’s make America great again,”

The cowards shouted loudly.

America collapsed in on itself.

The terrorists looked on proudly.

 

They didn’t need to build their bombs

Or infiltrate our ranks.

They didn’t need a bunch of arsenals

Or submarines, or tanks.

 

They only needed to set the bait

And watch our nation bite.

We freely surrendered our best true selves.

We collapsed without a fight.

 

The very things we feared we’d lose

Our values true and dear

We betrayed and gave them each the boot

As traitors fueled by fear.

 

The terrorists are laughing.

America’s in trouble.

We’ve done it to ourselves, my friend.

We’ve created our own rubble.

2 thoughts on “Surrender

    • I struggled to get some of my thoughts out today…and started and scrapped numerous posts. Then this one came together and I named and posted it. It was AFTER I posted it, that I realized it was the Five Minute Friday word for today. I had hesitated to post it, because I generally try to stay positive and optimistic. But when I saw the FMF word after the fact, I felt somehow it was just something I had to voice.
      -Sarah

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

