Nourishment

Black lettering on a blue background says "Nourishment."

If I’m honest with myself, I have to admit that I generally don’t eat for nourishment.

Sure, I know the food I eat is the fuel for my body.

You are what you eat.

Yadda, yadda, yadda.

But, seriously, if I am honest, I’d rather have a nice helping of mac and cheese if given a choice.

I don’t eat for nourishment.

I eat for comfort.

Nothing fancy, mind you.

I’m really not into fancy food.

Mac and cheese.

Popcorn.

Cornbread.

Potato casserole.

Chocolate chip cookies.

I read somewhere that “a calorie is a calorie” no matter what it is.

I don’t even know if that’s true, but I took it to heart.

The older I get, the more I realize that “a calorie is a calorie” is not a mantra for healthy living.

I acknowledge that I should eat more vegetables, more fruit, more protein, and fewer carbs.

When I eat “right” and am in the groove, I actually enjoy those things.

When I plan ahead and plan my meals, I appreciate them.

It’s when I am tired and “hangry” that I gravitate to the old standbys.

The comfort foods.

I hope to get to the point where I eat “right” more days than not, but with the understanding that, when I need “comfort” nourishment, it’s OK now and then to enjoy the standbys.


I’ve struggled in recent months to find the time and energy to write. A group of writers proposed writing something every day for the month of October, based on a one word prompt, and writing in just five minutes – no worrying about perfect grammar or always being poignant or well-polished. I’m giving it a go in an effort to jump start my writing. For the one word prompts, I’m going to follow along with The Upper Room’s Sight Psalms. They put out a picture a day and apply one word and a short reflection. If you are reading this, thanks for accompanying me for this experiment in motivation and discipline.

2 thoughts on “Nourishment

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

