Five Minute Friday: Family

(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Family

Go.

I am blessed with a loving family.

I benefit from my family’s unconditional love.

Family is central to my love of life and my joy in life.

Yesterday was my birthday and an avalanche of well wishes and greetings flowed my way from family and friends.

It warmed my heart and made me feel loved.

I enjoyed a three-hour lunch with my parents.

My husband baked me a cake.

What an awesome blessing to feel so secure in the love of my family.

Which reminds me.

God claims us as part of his family.

He claims every person on earth as part of his family.

Which means every person on earth deserves a sense of security in the unconditional love of God’s family.

Every person on earth.

Part of God’s family.

Part of my family.

Unconditional love.

Stop. 

Birthday cake 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Family

  1. Lovely birthday! I think it sounded fun with a three hour parent lunch…I’d like that too! The cake looks incredible! Was it carrot or pumpkin? Look orange and yummy! I like the cake stand too! I have an older lamp with a similar base! Thanks for coming to my blog and happy belated birthday! Enjoy your family weekend! Jenn

    • It was orange cake with vanilla icing. The cake plate is from Fenton Glass in Williamstown, WV. The hobnail design was one of their signature looks. Unfortunately the glass company shut down within the past few years. You have a great weekend, too. Maybe some time for yoga. 😉

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

