Five Minute Friday: Doubt

Night sky with nearly full moon over treetops.(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Doubt

Go.

It’s the middle of the night and I doubt I will be going back to sleep.

So much to think about.

Later today I will attend a funeral for a high school senior.

A high school senior I have known since she was three years old.

Her death was unexpected.

I doubt today will be easy.

Not for those of us who knew her.

Certainly not for her family.

Tomorrow I will attend a funeral for an 85 year old man I never met.

I didn’t know him, but I know and love his sister.

I know how she cared for him.

His death was not entirely unexpected.

I doubt tomorrow will be easy for my friend.

My doubts reflect our frail human nature.

Not for one minute do I doubt that God holds us all in his grace and mercy.

Stop. Front of a funeral card. Pink with a pink rose.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

