Do What You Have To Do

2015 calendarWe do what we have to do.

Sometimes that involves finding a work-around or going out of our way.

This past Sunday morning I had a scheduling conflict and could not attend worship.

As the weekend approached, I considered options and looked for an alternative.

I was pleased to discover a Saturday evening service in our area.

I was able to continue my Summer Itinerancy 2015 (which you can read about here) by visiting Bridgeport United Methodist Church in Bridgeport, West Virginia.

As is usually the case, finding a work-around paid off.

Turns out, the sermon was all about another person who did what he had to do.

I had to drive to a nearby town on a Saturday.

He had to climb a tree.

Zacchaeus wanted to see Jesus, but he was short and there was a big crowd.

So, he climbed a tree.

He did what he had to do and it changed his life.

Not only did he see Jesus, Jesus saw him and invited himself to his house.

Zacchaeus found new perspective and a new lease on life.

I’ve been thinking about Zacchaeus over the past couple of days.

Zacchaeus did what he had to do, but not too long after that, so did Jesus.

Jesus did what he had to do.

Like Zacchaeus, he also found himself high up in a tree, albeit a tree that had been cut down and shaped into a cross.

Jesus did what he had to do.

For that I am thankful.

Because of that I am called to do what I have to do.

To go out of my way.

To find a work-around when necessary.

To follow Jesus.

Bridgeport UMC in Bridgeport WV - entrance way with steeple, tree and tent for VBS

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

