Five Minute Friday: Door

(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Door

Go.

My bank in Mainz, Germany had a set of automatic sliding doors at the top of a set of steps, with another set of automatic sliding doors at the bottom of the steps as you entered the lobby area.

Every time I went through those doors I felt like a character in the old TV show “Get Smart” – I could hear the theme music echoing in my head.

(For those of you too young to remember that show, here’s a link to the opening. You’ll see. That theme song is a true ear worm once you’ve heard it.)


Cathedral front doors stand solidly beneath intricately carved stone archways – depicting saints and sinners and apostles and pilgrims, cherubim and seraphim.

Every time I go through such a door I feel overwhelmed by the vast expanse of human history – at once insignificant and yet honored to experience the holy space.


The door at our son’s preschool had an electronic bell that sounded when you opened it.

Every time I opened it to leave after dropping him off, my heart would sink.

Every time I opened it to pick him up, my spirit would sing.


Then there is the door to our basement.

I am an early morning person – generally the first one up and moving.

I love the mystery of that time of day…the quiet…the dark…the stillness.

Here’s a picture I took of our basement door one Thanksgiving morning. Golden light glow leaking out from the four edges of a door ajar.

I love this picture. It makes me feel like an awesome adventure is just around the corner…something bright and wonderful… just on the other side of the door. My very own Narnia.

Stop.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Door

  1. I love the mystery of the early morning time too. Once I went out at 5 am to get donuts and came across a bunch of older people gathering inside sharing coffee and having a grand old time. I loved seeing how while most of the world seemed still, there was this joyous time being held inside the donut shop. There is a stillness in the early morning too. I love your picture. Very cool!

  2. Oh… Early morning is my favorite too!! 🙂
    I love this post. I had not stopped to think how every door we open can bring different feelings. But now that you have written about it, I can feel it.

    Thanks for sharing what was on your heart.
    Stopping by from FMF.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

