Five Minute Friday: Tomorrow

Black and white photo of a closely cropped clock face. Roman numerals. Hands pointed to about 12:22.

(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Tomorrow

Go.

I remember driving east along a country road in the late autumn sunshine of November.

The morning sunlight created a strobe effect as it poked its way through the trees lining the highway.

The pulsing bright light only encouraged the tears already forming in my eyes.

I was on my way to a funeral.

The person we were mourning was young.

Younger than I, and I was in my twenties.

But now she was gone.

As I drove along that curvy road, alone, it felt strange that somehow the world was going about its business as if nothing had happened.

I passed cars and trucks traveling in the opposite direction.

Their occupants had places to go, people to see and things to do.

Life goes on.

For her there was no tomorrow, but for others – including me – “tomorrow” had come and turned into “today.”

That was more than twenty years ago.

Twenty years’ worth of tomorrows have come and gone since that day.

I know I took many of them for granted.

Stop.

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Tomorrow

  1. That was really well written. I lost my Grandpa yesterday, and my niece two weeks ago–she was only 20–and agree with you. We waste too many days. Let’s make them count!
    Visiting from FMF.

    • Amy, I am so very sorry to hear of your loss of two people very important in your life. I’m sure they are both very hard to bear, each in their own way – one of a person who was part of your whole life; the other a person whose life was just getting started. I am offering a prayer for you and your family as you grieve. – Sarah

  2. Sarah, I believe one of the hardest things to come to terms with is when life goes on for us, after someone close to us has died. I have a hard time reconciling that in the middle of grief. I love your takeaway though. We do need to make sure each of our days count. Being purposeful in how we live today. Thank you for this perspective!

  3. Sarah, wonderfully written. I have this insane fear of death (it’s developed really recently)….it puts me in a kind of blind panic where I just see the finite number of days I have left…it’s awful….I think it’s Him addressing my ‘final frontier’…….whatever it is, it’s certainly making me less blase about the value of ‘today’…..have a lovely weekend, Helen xx

  4. Thank you for sharing on FMF. very relatable, I can remember many such drives as if they were yesterday, only to remember that they were many tommorrows ago.

  5. It’s amazing how a tomorrow can turn into twenty years. A young girl at the dinner table said how she wished the year would hurry and be over already (she’s a senior). Her dad replied something to the effect of, “Enjoy these long years while you are young because when you’re older years pass in a flash.” Thank you for sharing. #fmfparty

  6. Thanks for your post, Sarah. Your words are sobering and brought to mind Psalm 90:12, “Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” Blessings to you.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

