Belief

Photo focused in on an excerpt from the Apostles' Creed - I believe in God the Father...And in Jesus Christ

I believe in God.

Not everybody does.

I get that.

But I do.

I know and love some people who say they do not believe in God.

I respect their right to form their own beliefs, but it does make me sad.

I ask myself, how can I help them believe?

What proof can I give?

I can’t post a photo of God.

If I was trying to help God get a driver’s license I could not produce a birth certificate, electric bill, social security number or passport as proof he exists.

No fingerprints, credit reports or school records.

But I do believe in God and, through prayer, talk with him daily.

So what?

If my belief in God and my daily talks with him don’t impact how I live my life, how I interact with others, how I treat others, the choices I make – so what?

If my belief doesn’t manifest itself in ways that show a non-judgmental love and service for others – even for those with whom I disagree, even for those who don’t believe in God – so what?

If none of that helps provide proof to others that God exists…so what?

You can’t make somebody believe.

But you can live your life as though you do.

As though you really do.

And that, I believe, is what God asks of me.

A red wall decoration that says Love You - and the "o" in Love is shaped like a heart - pink and white.

One thought on “Belief

  1. “You can’t make somebody believe. But you can live your life as though you do. As though you really do. And that, I believe, is what God asks of me.” Amen and amen.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

