Five Minute Friday: Relief

A baseball nestled among the food in a refrigerator.

(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Relief

Go.

I want one.

I want the life-equivalent of a relief pitcher.

Just think how handy that could be!

In baseball, a relief pitcher is the player who’s put in when the starting pitcher is no longer getting the job done – either due to ineffectiveness or just being worn out and worn down by the game.

Am I alone in having days when a “relief-me” could really be a plus?

I get up each day and really try.

I really do.

Some days I am on a roll, using my blazing fast ball to go from task to task to task – striking out each item on my to-do list.

One. Two. Three.

Some days I even attempt to do things with a bit of style, using a curve ball, slider, or a change-up.

And, let’s face it…some days my go-to pitch can be a screwball.

But then there are those days when none of the pitches in my arsenal seem to be working too well.

It’s on those days I would welcome a relief-me.

Wouldn’t that be awesome?

I’d just head back to the dugout and drape my warmup over my exhausted arm, grab a bottle of water and some sunflower seeds and watch relief-me bring it home.

That. Sounds. Fan. Tastic.

What a relief!

Stop.

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Relief

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

