Five Minute Friday: Dear

(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Dear

Go.

December 5, 2014

Dear future generations:

I hope this finds you well, but I have my doubts.

I am not so sure that my generation is doing such a great job…and that makes me worry about the world we are leaving for you.

This generation is divided and angry and selfish and lazy. We belittle and make fun of those with whom we disagree; we are argumentative; we are easily distracted by meaningless things; and we want everything immediately and cheaply.

We expect (and believe we deserve) “something for nothing.”

We place nearly zero value on human life. It’s “kill or be killed” these days.

We are impatient.

On the one hand we fear there is not enough for everyone – so we are constantly out to stockpile more for ourselves; on the other hand we use up the world’s resources as if they were limitless.

The long view is not our strong suit.

So…I hope this finds you well, but I have my doubts.

Apologetically yours,

Me

Stop.

(p.s. I am generally a positive person, but today I am in a funk. Sorry for the blues. I will start again in the morning to do what I can to improve things. – SVLH)

Pensive

 

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Dear

  1. Another FMF writer stopping by. I hope you are soon out of your funk. Wanted to tell you that I’ve just read an amazing story of a football lineman who quit a multi million dollar career to grow food for the poor. A young man.

    And, I’d like to tell you, crossing the great divide or probably 68 years, I think that your generation and the ones coming up behind it are aware, compassionate and selfless in so many ways. I’ve met a lot of you. There are self centered people in all age groups, but I feel I’ve met the best of America in the many organizations that I’m a member of, and there are so many of the younger people now in them who make me so proud of Americans. You will find the way to do the things we couldn’t quite pull off.

  2. I can appreciate your current funk, especially with recent events in the USA and around the world that indicate little or no value is placed on human life. Thankfully, we know there is hope. He has equipped us to be salt and light and we can make a positive difference in the corners where He has placed us. Blessings to you. Visiting from FMF.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

