Five Minute Friday: Still

(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Still

Go.

Ever notice how when you absolutely need to “be still” – you absolutely find it harder than ever to do it?

This week I had an eye test. I was supposed to focus my eye – don’t move! – on a little digital snowflake off to the side of the screen.

I tried really hard, but I could FEEL my eyes hopping and skipping. I could feel them not being “still.”

I guess they were still enough, because they didn’t keep trying to repeat the test. I guess they got what they needed.

But I KNOW my eyes were not “still.”

It reminded me of acting class in college. I remember sitting around the stage in a group. Our assignment was to TOTALLY relax our faces. Every muscle. They had to be relaxed. Completely. I don’t think I ever mastered that drill.

The harder I tried to relax, the more I tensed up about whether I was relaxed!

This can be true in my prayer time.

Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still and know that I am God.”

I try to be “still” – but I can FEEL my mind hopping and skipping. I can feel myself not being “still.”

I am thankful that God knows me and my struggle to be “still.”

And he accepts me for who I am.

Still.

Stop. 

A close up image of a green eye, behind glasses.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Still

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

