Autumn

 

Cooper's Rock State Forest overlook. Large stones in the foreground. A vista of hills and autumn trees in the distance.

Every autumn I think the same thing.

Thank you, God, for letting me be alive to experience one more autumn!

I’m not planning on dying anytime soon, but you just never know.

I try not to take it for granted that I will see another autumn.

There is something about this season that feeds my soul.Instagram photo of a red leaf with grass blades in the foreground.

The chill that sneaks into the morning air.

Familiar routines of the school year.

My birthday.

The different slant to morning and afternoon sun.

The crunch of leaves underfoot on a hike through the woods.

Fallen leaves - Cooper's Rock State Forest

The annual fashion show of multicolored trees.

I drink it in.The sun peers down through the trees at Cooper's Rock State Forest in West Virginia. October 2014

Driving or walking along this time of year and letting my eyes sop up the beautiful scenery is something akin to meditation for me.

God made the world.

And he called it “good.”

I like the other seasons, too, and am thankful to live in a part of the world that experiences the four seasons.

But. Autumn. Is. My. Favorite.An Instagram screen shot of a close up no filter picture of a red autumn leaf

Another year has passed, and I have made my prayer of thanksgiving for the opportunity to see and experience another autumn.

I’ve told our son that – when and if I get really old and feeble – I want him to promise to wheel me outside every autumn to see the leaves.

Even if, someday, I don’t know who I am or where I am or what day it is, I believe that somewhere deep down inside, the autumn leaves will still reach my soul…will still speak to me…will still remind me that God made the world.

And he called it “good.”

Bright golden-orange leaves are highlighted by the sun, with West Virginia Wesleyan College's Wesley Chapel in the background.

One thought on “Autumn

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

