Five Minute Friday: Care

(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Care

Go.

Care!

“Care” is an imperative command.

Care, already!

When you care it makes a difference.

You become engaged.

You ask questions.

You inform others.

You make choices based on what you know.

It can seem so easy not to care.

Who cares?

I’m not threatened by Ebola.

Nobody has shot up a school in my community.

I don’t live in tornado alley.

I am not in a war zone.

I haven’t had to skip any meals.

I have a place to live.

I have an education.

I have a family who loves me.

I get to waste some money now and then on non-essential things.

I have the freedom to worship where and how I please.

I know many don’t have the same experience.

People are dying of Ebola.

Students are being shot and killed in schools.

Homes and lives are destroyed by natural disasters.

People are trapped in areas of constant warfare.

They are dying of hunger.

Homelessness exists.

Children and adults are denied basic education.

Some people are abused and neglected by their own families.

There are those who count out pennies to buy a gallon of milk.

People are murdered for voicing a religious belief.

In the face of all of the problems in the world, what difference can I make?

Why should I care?

“Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.” (Matthew 25:40 NIV)

Stop.

A band-aid and the word "care"

 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Care

  1. Sarah, thanks for reminding me that I should care even when not directly affected by the horror and hardships of others, and that it is my actions that reveal how much I care, not my words. Visiting from FMF.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

