A “Seen It” Overlook

Next to the coffee scoop and the reusable K-cup, there is a fine dusting of coffee grounds. And a very ripe banana.

Proverbs 19:11 “Smart people know how to hold their tongue; their grandeur is to forgive and forget.” (MSG)

I reached down for the little scoop, intent on filling the reusable K-cup and starting my morning cup of coffee. That’s when I noticed the fine dust of ground coffee on the counter. Quicker than a caffeine boost, I felt a familiar prick of irritation and aggravation.

If he would just tap the scoop on the edge of the K-cup before returning it to the counter, it would shake off that excess coffee dust and there would be no mess. How hard is that? Grrr.

But just as quickly as irritation and aggravation arrived, I heard the still, small voice in my head asking two important questions:

  • Is this really such a big deal?
  • Is it worth mentioning?

I decided the answer to both questions was “no.”


This was one of those times when I needed a “seen it” overlook.


You know what I’m talking about!

You’ve seen it…but you’re going to overlook it.

Little aggravations are normal when people share close quarters. The big surprise would be if there weren’t any. But our response to those aggravations is important.

My husband and I have been married for almost twenty years, so we’ve both offered our share of “seen it” overlooks. I’m so thankful for a husband who is willing to overlook things I do that annoy him.

If I claimed that we both pulled off the “seen it” overlook response every time, I’d be lying. I know I’ve blurted out things that, in retrospect, should have been ignored or overlooked. And so has he.


God is so much better at the “seen it” overlook than you or I could ever be!


He sees all of our shortcomings, and yet he responds by offering us grace and forgiveness.

That doesn’t mean he accepts or condones our sin, and neither should we “overlook” issues or behaviors in our marriages or other relationships that are dangerous or unhealthy.

But more often than not, when we listen to the still small voice, we will find that a well-timed “seen it” overlook is just what’s needed. It can help us model the grace and forgiveness God so freely offers to us.

And that’s a beautiful sight!

One thought on “A “Seen It” Overlook

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

