Five Minute Friday: Tell

(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Tell

Go.

I have lived a very sheltered life.

I’ve enjoyed being part of a warm and stable family.

I’ve never gone hungry or lacked basic needs.

I’ve had access to education and many opportunities to learn and explore the world.

So, when I first volunteered as a Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA), I found myself face-to-face with a world I knew nothing about.

It was a foreign world.

I met many children whose life situations were far from sheltered…or warm…or stable.

I met two children who had been sexually abused by their own parent.

They told me he had threatened them to never tell.

If they told anybody, he said, he would kill them. And he would kill the person they told.

To emphasize he meant business, he killed their pet in front of them.

See, he told them, I am capable of carrying out my threat.

So they didn’t tell.

Later, when the abuse came to light via other means, they were free to tell and to start to seek healing from this horrible reality that had been their life.

Somebody else had noticed that something was not quite right.

They told somebody.

It was checked out.

So the children were freed from their torture.

If you ever see something you think could be abuse or neglect…TELL.

Somebody will check it out.

If you are ever the victim of abuse or neglect…TELL.

There are people who want to help you.

If you think you can’t make a difference in the lives of these children…TELL yourself you’re wrong.

Because, let me tell you, you can.

Stop.

 "The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity." - Amelia Earhart CASAforChildren.org

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Tell

  1. Well.. I just happened to click your link and boom, it’s as if you are sharing the story of my childhood. While I did eventually tell, four times to be exact, I was never rescued. I am grateful today that I survived, that Jesus bid me come at the age of 23 and I have been unconditionally loved for 20 years by a God who holds me close! I pray for others to tell, and to be rescued and no matter what that rescue may look like, to be healed by Jesus Christ!

    • I am sorry you had to live that existence and that you weren’t rescued despite speaking up. I’m glad you have found peace and purpose through your relationship with Jesus. I have seen the CASA program help make a difference – there just aren’t enough to go around to all the kids who need them. So I try and spread the word whenever I can. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

