Five Minute Friday: Fill

(So, I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font or punctuation; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Fill

Go:

Full can feel so empty.

We can fill our shopping carts, our houses, our schedules, our stomachs, our bank accounts…and yet feel unfulfilled.

Often it’s in a quiet emptiness that my heart feels the fullest.

One of my favorite times of day is the pre-dawn darkness, before light fills the sky and my day fills with “busy.”

And then, there’s that moment on the other side of a full day, when I lay my head on the pillow and my mind begins to fill with thoughts of people I’ve promised to pray for.

My mind fills with images of their faces and their situations and then, gradually, my conscious-self empties…and I am asleep…allowing my resting mind to continue the prayers.

Fulfilling a promise.

Empty can feel so full.

Stop.

Black and white photo of a full moon over some tree tops.

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Fill

  1. I love this. It’s so true how empty can really be what makes us feel full. We empty our expectations, our perfectionism, our constant striving. And in the quiet empty, we fill full. Thank you for your beautiful words!

  2. Beautiful post, Sarah. I think the rhythm of my breath changed to a slower pace as I read the words, “My mind fills with images of their faces and their situations and then, gradually, my conscious-self empties…and I am asleep…allowing my resting mind to continue the prayers.” 🙂 Blessings to you. E

  3. Beautiful post. I so love your writing, so profound. Thank you. Totally agree with your opening statement that ‘full can feel so empty’: as I’ve simplified my life in light of the problems we have faced, I have never felt fuller in myself, spiritually, emotionally, mentally. And then, as you point out, empty becomes full, but full with things that are truly important. I love, love, love, your responses to the FMF prompts: I will be a regular visitor. Thank you.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

