Five Minute Friday: Begin

(So…I’ve been participating in a “writers’ flash mob” of sorts called Five Minute Friday. In response to a one-word prompt, hundreds of writers sit down and write for five minutes flat. No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, punctuation, or – sometimes – spelling; unscripted and unedited. Here’s today’s edition…setting the timer….)

Five Minute Friday: Begin

Go.

So…there’s a song playing in my mind right now…

“Tomorrow! Tomorrow! I love ya, tomorrow! You’re only a day away!”

Sheet music for Tomorrow from the musical Annie

Why, you may ask, am I suffering such a strange ear worm…this classic from Annie?

Our word prompt today is “begin” and, well, that’s when I generally say I will “begin” something.

You know.

Tomorrow.

I’m not the only one.

I have a hunch this is a fairly common situation.

I’m gonna start eating healthier meals…starting…tomorrow.

I’m gonna organize those business files…starting…tomorrow.

I’m gonna stop by the flooring store and get estimates on options to replace the carpet that needed replaced when we bought the house thirteen years ago.

Maybe we can do that…tomorrow.

But as the old saying goes, tomorrow never comes.

Because by the time it does…

It’s today.

So maybe we need a rewrite for that standard classic from Annie.

(Sung to the tune of the above-mentioned song…)

“Let’s do it! Let’s do it! Let’s start right this minute! It’s time for me to begin!”

 Stop.

Cover for a book of sheet music for the musical Annie

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Begin

  1. You are definitely not alone and I am singing along with you. “Let’s do it! Let’s do it! Let’s start right this minute! It’s time for me to begin!”

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

