Five Minute Friday: Finish

(I participate with a group of writers in a weekly “Five Minute Friday” writing exercise. In response to a word prompt, each writer sits down for five minutes for “no extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.” This is also described as a sort of writing flash mob and a great form of “free therapy”.)

Five Minute Friday: Finish

Go:

I admit, I have some perfectionist tendencies.

So, it is really, really hard for me to consider something “finished.”

That’s one reason these “Five Minute Fridays” have been healthy for me.

I can be “OK” with something not being refined and polished.

I can point to the rules and say, “I only had five minutes. Those are the rules!”

And if I have perfectionist tendencies…they are nothing compared to my sense of playing by the rules.

If the rule says “finished in five”…well then…I have to be finished in five!

Lisa-Jo Baker, the gal who founded this “Five Minute Friday” group announced this week she is passing the baton.

She is finished and ready to move on to her next challenge.

So, I want to thank her for coming up with this idea and hosting it for the past four years.

And I applaud her for being honest enough to say she needed to be “finished” with hosting it – and for caring enough about those of us who have come to look forward to these “Five Minute Fridays” to find a person to carry on the tradition.

I read recently that life is not really a sprint…and it’s not a marathon…it’s more of a relay race.

We each run our leg – the best we can – and then pass the baton to the next person, the next generation, the next champion of those things we care about.

We each, like Lisa-Jo, can find times when we have “finished”…but the race goes on.

Stop.

Two runners at a girls' track meet - handing off the baton in a relay race

Photo from Keyser High School 1980 Yearbook

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: Finish

  1. This is great! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on writing for Five Minute Friday! I have such a hard time coming up with a whole blog post in five minutes, but it is good for me too.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

