Five Minute Friday: Lost

(I participate with a group of writers in a weekly “Five Minute Friday” writing exercise. In response to a word prompt, each writer sits down for five minutes for “no extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.” This is also described as a sort of writing flash mob and a great form of “free therapy”.)

Five Minute Friday: Lost

Go.

Some of my best memories involve getting lost.

The kind of lost where I suddenly looked up and it had been an hour or more since the last time I noticed my surroundings.

I’d often find myself draped sideways in a stuffed chair – with my head braced against one arm rest and my legs dangling over the other.

I’d blink a bit and try to get my bearings.

Where am I?

What time is it?

Why is it dark outside?

Then it would dawn on me and I would realize my situation.

The clue?

The book in my hand.

 Stop.

Me, reading a book in our pop up tent camper

 

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

