Five Minute Friday: Hands

Handy Smurf

(I participate with a group of writers in a weekly “Five Minute Friday” writing exercise. In response to a word prompt, each writer sits down for five minutes for “no extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.” This is also described as a sort of writing flash mob and a great form of “free therapy” )

Five Minute Friday: Hands

Go.

Handy Smurf is my hero.

He shows up, puts his problem-solving skills to the task, and does what he can to make things better.

Usually with just everyday resources he finds around him.

I’ve known many real-life “Handy Smurfs” and I can’t begin to express how much I admire them.

I’d count my parents among these “can do” heroes.

Whether it was making a variety of parsonages (of various degrees of repair) “home” for our family of five, or loading us up to go on camping trips, or helping with school projects, or staying on the cutting edge of photography and digital media storytelling techniques…they have always continued to keep moving and contributing to the world around them.

I used to work in public radio broadcasting, and I remember one of our engineers in particular who exemplified this “can do” “Handy Smurf” quality.

Equipment would break.

When we would let him know, he never met the news with a groan or gave the impression that he was being put out.

He would get a gleam in his eye and start brainstorming how he was going to fix it.

He accepted the challenge and went about the work with a positive attitude.

I’ve got to hand it to all the “Handy Smurfs” out there.

They sure make the world a better place.

Stop.  Selfie of my Mom, Dad and me - the day after Mother's Day 2014

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Hands

  1. You are so blessed to have parents like that! I’m a handy smurf, too :). Drives my husband crazy, but i’m always sure we can get it fixed, if we just try one more thing – and usually it works!

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

