Do You Hear What I Hear?

Tess begs for cheese

Our dog Tess can tell – just by the sound of it – when we open our refrigerator’s “cheese drawer.”

Mind you, the “vegetable drawer” just below it is made of the same materials and is similar in size.

But she can tell.

Open the vegetable drawer.

Nothing.

Open the cheese drawer and within seconds she will be by your side, front paws up on your leg with her “you can’t tell me no” eyes fully deployed.

Tess is also totally tuned into the neighborhood’s dog social media.

A yip from the backyard next door and she is at the front window surveying the situation.

It reminds me of those scenes in 101 Dalmatians where the dogs send messages across the city and out into the country via a sophisticated network.

I don’t have Tess’s super sensitive hearing abilities, but I am trying to be more intentional about picking up on the sound cues around me.

For example, the sound of birds singing and chirping has definitely shifted from winter to spring-is-coming. I’m excited about that one!!

I’ve noticed the encouraging “drip, drip, drip” from our gutters that signals melting snow.

Sounds of nature are one thing.

Truly listening to the people around us is another.

I need to be just as intentional about that, if not more so.

Do you hear what I hear?

I’m trying to shift to “do I hear what you hear?”

Sounds good.

Is that cheesy or corny?

I better ask Tess.

Refrigerator drawers - one for cheese. One for veggies.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

