Good Thing I Didn’t Have a Gun

Gun

My blood is boiling.

All because of a stupid robocall we received this evening.

A gun rights group called to urge us to contact lawmakers about some piece of legislation.

Honestly I can’t tell you the name of the group, the name of the bill, or what it is supposed to do.

I’m too mad to remember.

The fact that they called our house and, since it was a robocall, wouldn’t let me hang up on the call, has pushed me into an agitated state.

I’d hang up.

It would ring again.

I’d hang up.

It would ring again.

As inescapable as the epidemic of school shootings, this call would not let up.

Add to that annoying persistence this important fact:

I hate guns.

I’m not talking “going hunting with your Grandpa” guns.

I’m talking “I will carry this around with me in case somebody ticks me off” guns.

You know the kind.

The kind that a former policeman used to murder a guy in a movie theatre because he was annoyed with him using his cell phone to check on his young daughter during the previews.

The kind that a guy used to fire multiple shots into a teenager’s vehicle, killing him, because he was annoyed that the kid was playing his music too loud and got mouthy about it.

The kind that a man used with no warning to shoot and kill two men who were walking in the backyard next door. One of those men had just bought the house and was showing it to his brother…at 2:30 in the afternoon.

I’m talking about the “left around the house for some child to get his hands on and accidently kill someone or himself” guns.

I’m talking about the “I can fire a gajillion shots in under a minute” guns.

Yeah.

I hate those.

Our nation has turned one interpretation of the second amendment into an anti-life idol – worshiped by the gun industry and those the industry has whipped into a frenzy of fear.

“There is nothing to fear, but fear itself.”

One of our greatest presidents said that.

It was true then.

It’s true now.

The more people are whipped into a state of fear, the more they will feel it necessary to arm themselves to the teeth.

The more they arm themselves to the teeth, the greater the risk that they will actually use their gun(s) to do something completely stupid – ruining their own life and those of people around them.

So, yeah.

I hate guns.

Don’t be calling my house telling me to bully lawmakers into voting for some pro-gun bill.

Not gonna happen.

And it’s a good thing I don’t have a gun.

Or there would be one blown apart phone/answering machine smoldering on the floor of our home office right at this very minute.

The worst I could do with my rage and boiling blood was write this rant.

So there!

Take THAT!

One thought on “Good Thing I Didn’t Have a Gun

  1. Sarah: totally understand your position. I have started picking up
    the phone , not saying anything , and letting the phone line stay open until it starts beeping as if your phone was off the hook & then hang up. It confuses a robocall & eliminates your number from their list. Read this in AARP publication & it seems to be working for me.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

