Heart

Heart decoration wrapped around lamp stand

I recently set up a small “writer’s nook” area in the corner of our living room.

I borrowed a floor lamp from our son, scavenged part of a circa 1992 computer desk and hutch (minus the hutch) and the seat part of a broken office chair (minus the back.)

Around the lampstand I wound a red wire heart.

I had it in my college office for years (I don’t remember how many) and had packed it away with my other office mementos.

My husband spied that heart last week and asked me where it came from.

“From you,” I told him with a smile.

It was a decoration left over from some long ago floral arrangement he had sent me at work.

He had performed the act of kindness and love, but did not remember the specifics of the wire heart.

I remembered.

That is so often the case.

We perform an act of kindness and love and then move on, sometimes forgetting.

But to someone, it is memorable.

To someone, it is appreciated.

And so, it is worthwhile.

On this Valentine’s Day 2014, I wish for you opportunities to perform acts of kindness and love.

And I hope you are also the recipient of such acts.

Much love,

Sarah

One thought on “Heart

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

