Watch It

Meme - I don't watch a lot of television. But when I do, it must teach me something.

I confess.

My favorite TV shows are really meant for kids.

I love children’s television.

Not all of it. (I will not voluntarily watch Yo Gabba Gabba, for example. Sorry. I just don’t get that one.)

But there are lots of great shows produced for kids.

These shows tend to be upbeat, optimistic, and joyful.

They tend to model strong friendships and families.

They often address basic truth and knowledge.

My favorites feature fabulously witty writing.

And I usually like their music.

I don’t need to have a kid around to enjoy a good episode of Phineas and Ferb, Veggie Tales, 3-2-1 Penguins, Little Bear, 64 Zoo Lane, Reading Rainbow, Miss Spider’s Sunny Patch Friends, Blue’s Clues, or Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood.

And Word Girl!  Natch!

The other day, for grins and giggles, I got out some old Baby Einstein videos (yes…VHS tapes) to watch while I walked on the treadmill. I usually catch the news.

But I was in the mood for something else.

I was in the mood for Baby Shakespeare and Baby Van Gogh.

I enjoyed the music (mostly classical) and the poetry and art and simple motions.

I also enjoyed the memories that came flooding back…memories of watching them with our son when he was little. I smiled when the videos presented images, music or moments that had been his favorites (or mine.)

Our son has definitely moved on from most of those earlier shows.

Nowadays it’s more along the lines of Adventure Time, Good Luck Charlie, The Amazing World of Gumball, Steven Universe, Gravity Falls, and (thanks to the influence of my husband) Dr. Who. (Our son has also recently discovered Full House on nick@nite and has long loved the Cosby Show.)

I haven’t been able to interest him in Gilligan’s Island yet. Yet.

But I am patient.

I imagine I am not the only grown up who likes kids’ TV.

Maybe you do.

Just for fun…see if you can name the show to match the following quotes. Answers listed after the picture:

1 – “I know what we’re gonna do today.”

2 – “‘Cause when we use our minds, we take a step at a time, we can do anything that we wanna do.”

3 – “(He) could count by twos and tie his shoes.”

4 – “You know, if you had all the toys in the world and you didn’t have any imagination about how you would play with them, those toys would just sit there doing nothing. And that would be no fun.”

5 – “Everybody’s got a water buffalo.”

6 – “Butterfly in the sky – I can go twice as high.”

DVD covers for Kids' Shows

Answers:1)Phineas and Ferb; 2)Blue’s Clues; 3)Franklin; 4)Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood; 5)Veggie Tales; 6)Reading Rainbow

 

One thought on “Watch It

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

