Taking Steps

Steps

I love listening to Christmas music.

All kinds of Christmas music.

I love the sacred and the kitschy alike.

One of the sacredly-kitschy songs I remember from my childhood comes from the 1970 Rankin/Bass TV special Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town.

You may remember it.

“If you want to change your direction,
If your time of life is at hand,
Well, don’t be the rule, be the exception
A good way to start is to stand.

[Chorus]
Put one foot in front of the other
And soon you’ll be walking ‘cross the floor.
You put one foot in front of the other
And soon you’ll be walking out the door.”

What great advice for each of us, no matter our stage of life; no matter our personal goal.

One day at a time.

One step at a time.

One decision or choice at a time.

Keep moving forward.

I recently read a great tweet from Joshua Becker, a writer who focuses on minimalism.

“People overestimate what they can do in a single day,” he said. “And underestimate what they can do in their whole lives.”

Sometimes we allow ourselves to feel overwhelmed by thinking we have to go too far, too fast.

Amy Grant touched on a similar idea of doing what you can and not allowing yourself to become overwhelmed.

In Shine All Your Light, she sings:

“Like sand on a mountain, rain on a fountain, shade on a shadow, a breeze in this tornado, just do what you can. Clap with one hand and shine all your light in the sun.”

As I arrived at work this morning I faced my daily choice: elevator or steps.

(My office is on the fourth floor.)

One choice at a time.

One step at a time.

We can take the easy way.

Or we can take the better way.

I took the steps.

It felt good.

And it got me where I needed to go.

One foot in front of the other.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

