Battery Drain

Headlight

The forecast today was for rain. Lots of rain.

So… like the super nice mama I am… I left extra early to go pick up our son at school.

This way I was sure to get a spot close to the building so he would have less distance to walk in the rain.

I actually arrived about 45 minutes before school let out.

I had brought a book and was looking forward to the quiet time.

I went ahead and turned off the car and enjoyed reading my book and listening to the pitter patter of the rain on the car roof. I even closed my eyes for a few minutes.

Peaceful.

Restful.

Quiet.

You know what else was quiet?

The car engine when I tried to start it up.

It seems I had turned off the car, but not the headlights.

And since I didn’t open the door to get out, there was no warning chime.

Battery?

Drained.

My son arrived and I explained our predicament.

We waited a few minutes and then tried again to start the car.

A sputter and a little clickety-clicking on the control panel.

But no go.

OK.

So my plan for him to have less distance to walk in the rain turned out to have back-fired.

We now got out of the car and walked – in the rain – three blocks or so to the orthodontist, where he had an appointment.

Luckily, his appointment was within walking distance.

Luckily, the rain had slacked off somewhat and the downpour from earlier had eased up.

Luckily, I was able to contact a friend who was willing to come give us a jump start after the appointment if we still needed it.

Luckily, when we got back to the car sufficient time had passed to allow the battery to recover enough to start.

Luckily, even if it had not started, help was close at hand and offered.

Life is like that.

Sometimes, when our battery is drained, we need to just allow some time to recover and then try again.

And if we can’t get things started, there is usually help nearby.

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

