If the Sky Could Talk

 ***

Last night we emerged from a local restaurant to the view of an outstanding sunset. The sky is often beautiful, but this was one of those stop-in-your-tracks-and-stare sunsets.

It took my breath away. It spoke to my heart. It made me smile. It made me feel happy.

This morning as I headed out to the mailbox to get the paper, I stopped in my tracks again, craned my neck back to look straight up, and admired the moon.

The wispy clouds were moving across the face of the moon in a manner that reminded me of one of those time-lapse scenes in a movie.

It took my breath away. It spoke to my heart. It made me think. It made me wonder about all of the moments of human history that have played themselves out under the gaze of that very moon…like scenes in a movie.

I’ve heard the remark, “if walls could talk.”

But what if the sky could talk?

What would it say about us humans? Would it talk about our frequent inhumanity to one another?  Would it elaborate on our ability to create and appreciate beauty, to love and care for one another?

What would it say?

We get caught up in the endless bad news – the terror, the massacres, the hunger, the disease, the earthquakes, the wars, the floods.

The moon and stars have witnessed brutal violence and heart-wrenching sorrow.

But none of that is new. People have been horrible to each other and natural disasters have occurred since the beginning of time.

But the moon and stars have also witnessed tenderness, thoughtfulness, creativity, beauty and love.

That is not new either. People can be pretty wonderful. People can be pretty creative. The world is a marvelous and beautiful place.

What if the sky could talk?

In fact, I think it does.

“There will always be good and bad,” the sky says. “Call out the bad and address it. But don’t focus on it. Remember the good. Celebrate the good. Be the good.”

So, today, look for and be the good.

Look for the beauty.

If we do that, the sky’s the limit…

Psalm 19:1 declares: “The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims his handiwork.”

*** (Photo by Zane Wagoner)

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

