Say Good Morning to the Sun

Cherry Nutrigrain bar on the dashboard

So I’m driving up the Interstate on the way to my annual health checkup.

Drinking my coffee and eating my cherry Nutrigrain bar.

Staying out of the way of “Those-Who-Must-Drive-Faster”.

Listening to K-LOVE radio.

The Newsboys are belting out “…My God is not dead – He’s surely alive…”

When, all of a sudden – BAM!

There is the sun in all its early-morning-glory-ness – streaming out, highlighting the bit of fog balanced over the hilltop.

It made me happy.

It made me actually smile out loud.

I didn’t have to get any shots at the doctor’s today.

But that shot of sunshine inoculated me for the day (and hopefully longer) – giving me patience and empathy for those I’ve encountered and a general-all-around positive outlook on the world.

There’s another song I hear sometimes on K-LOVE. It’s by Matt Redman. I think it puts into words and music what my heart felt this morning:

“The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes”

So… that’s always my plan.

I sing good morning to the sun and then I step on the gas and head out into the day.

2 thoughts on “Say Good Morning to the Sun

Thanks for stopping by! What are your thoughts on this?

